Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe by The Wood and Spoon Blog by Kate Wood. These are chewy chocolate chip cookies warmly scented with coriander and other spices and candied walnuts. You can substitute pecans or other nuts here. These make terrific holiday or Christmas chocolate chip cookies and can be made ahead and frozen. Save the extra candied walnut pieces for future baked goods. Find the recipe on thewoodandspoon.com. cookies, cookie recipes, walnuts, candied walnuts, cookies with nuts.

Is it entirely cliche to talk about how fast time flies in the month of December? All year long we wait and wait (and wait) for the Christmas season to roll around and then poof- you carve a turkey and suddenly it’s December. I’m not sure how that much joy and celebrating is supposed to get squeezed into a one month time frame, but you can bet that I’m going to do my very best to try. 

Now that I’m a mom, my M.O. during the month of December is to drum up as much holiday cheer and merriment for my children as possible. For George, my 7 month old, that’s a bit of a stretch, but for my 2 year old Aimee, the wonder of Christmas is alive and well. She counts the ornaments on our tree and drinks her milk out of a Santa mug. She’s captivated by all of the twinkling lights everywhere and you can bet she rocks her red and green pjs like it’s her 9-5. She talks to the angels on her advent calendar, says “May-we Cwiss-muss” to strangers at the grocery store, and reminds me just about every chance she gets that she was the one who got to put the star on top of our tree. This is the first year it’s magical for her, so I’m determined to make it count. Now is the time to start traditions that she will grow up on, and who knows, maybe even pass on to her kiddos someday. AM I HORMONAL OR IS THAT JUST, LIKE, THE MOST PRECIOUS MOM JOB EVER?

Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Near the top of my list of traditions to pass on to the babies is cookies. Cookie decorating, cookies for Santa, cookies with milk before bedtime, and all the other cookie-related Christmassy things you can think of. In case you haven’t heard, cookies reign supreme over 95% of all other foods throughout the Christmas season, and this time of year just wouldn’t be what it is without a cookie or two. For that reason and about a million more, I am thrilled to be a part of the #calmandbrightcookienight virtual cookie party being hosted by Natalie and Holly of The Modern Proper. If you haven’t heard of these fabulous ladies, their blog, or their vision for reinventing food and the way we share it with others, then cancel your plans for the evening and plan on spending an hour or two skimming their blog. It’s filled with beautiful words, stunning images, and food that makes your belly growl. Today, the ladies behind The Modern Proper are hosting a virtual cookie exchange with over 30 other food bloggers who will also be sharing cookie recipes! I know, it’s like Christmas come early, right?

Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m bringing these candied walnut chocolate chip cookies into the mix. They’re lightly spiced with coriander, cinnamon, and all-spice which adds a winter warmth to an already delicious and decadent chocolate chip cookie. This recipe, adapted from Tara O’Brady‘s earth shattering chocolate chip cookie is chewy, buttery, and rich from scattered flecks of dark chocolate, with an added crunchy sweetness that can be attributed to the candied walnuts. To quote the Dos Equis man, “I don’t always eat chocolate chip cookies, but when I do, I add candied walnuts and proceed to eat 12 of them.” True story.
Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies
To prepare these candied walnut chocolate chip cookies, we start by making the walnuts, which cook up quickly on the stovetop in a mixture of butter, sugar, and spices. The butter and sugar melt around the chopped nuts, creating a thin sheet of sugary spiced glass around each nut. This keeps the nuts from getting gummy or overly chewy in the cookie, and also adds a sweet little crunch to every bite of cookie. While the nuts cool, the cookie dough is prepared. With a little butter, sugar, flour, and salt, these cookies come together in a bowl with a wooden spoon before the added candied walnuts and chopped dark chocolate take them to the next level. Candied walnut chocolate chip cookies are sweet, spicy, salty, and most certainly Santa worthy. 
Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies
While these candied walnut chocolate chip cookies taste excellent fresh from the oven, I find they taste best once cooled, or even the following day, as the cookie firms up and the flavors in it seem to keep developing over time. They freeze well in airtight containers, both pre and post baking, which makes these an excellent make-ahead treat. Plus, if you’re not a fan of walnuts, you can easily substitute pecans, pistachios, or another favorite nut, if preferred. 
Many thanks to The Modern Proper for hosting this most special cookie party. Please give these candied walnut chocolate chip cookies and try, and then check out the other bloggers who are participating in the #calmandbrightcookienight in the list below! Happy Monday and cheers to you!
Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Floating Kitchen – Chocolate Peppermint Thumbprint Cookies http://www.floatingkitchen.net/peppermint-chocolate-thumbprint-cookies/

Brewing Happienss – Mint Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies http://www.brewinghappiness.com/mint-chocolate-gingerbread-cookies-calmandbrightcookienight/

The Vintage Mixer – Ginger Creams with Browned butter Icing http://www.thevintagemixer.com/2016/12/christmas-cookies-ginger-creams/

Wu Haus – Raw Vegan Gingerbread Cookie Sandwiches http://www.wuhaus.com/blog/2016/12/12/raw-vegan-gingerbread-cookie-sandwiches

The Almond Eater – Homemade Almond Biscotti http://thealmondeater.com/2016/12/homemade-almond-biscotti/

Chocolate + Marrow – Brown Butter Gingerbread Madeleines  http://chocolateandmarrow.com/2016/12/12/brown-butter-gingerbread-madeleines-recipe 

Hungry Girl Por Vida – Lemon Pistachio Linzer Cookies https://www.hungrygirlporvida.com/blog/2016/12/12/lemon-pistachio-linzer-cookies/

Honestly YUM – Ricciarelli (Italian Almond Cookies) http://honestlyyum.com/18212/ricciarelli-italian-almond-cookies/

Husbands That Cook – Chocolate Sugar Cookies http://www.husbandsthatcook.com/2016/12/chocolate-sugar-cookies/

The Judy Lab – Sea Salt Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies http://www.thejudylab.com/recipes-blog/sea-salt-chocolate-chocolate-chip-cookies

Gather and Dine – Chocolate Almond Spelt Cookies http://www.gatheranddine.com/chocolate-almond-spelt-cookies/

Betty S Liu– Cardamom Persimmon Cookies with Olive Oil Dark Chocolate Ganache http://bettysliu.com/2016/12/12/cardamom-persimmon-cookies-olive-oil-dark-chocolate-ganache/

Harvest and Honey – Milk & Cookies https://harvestandhoney.com/2016/12/12/milk-cookies/

Bakerita – Chocolate Rugelach (gluten free + refined sugar free) http://www.bakerita.com/chocolate-rugelach-gluten-free/

The Fauxmartha – Snowball cookies http://www.thefauxmartha.com/2016/12/12/snowball-cookies/

The Kitchen Paper – Soft Toffee Cookies http://thekitchenpaper.com/soft-toffee-cookies/

Life Is But A Dish – Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cookies http://www.lifeisbutadish.com/chocolate-peppermint-cream-cookies/

Oh Honey Bakes Pomegranate Pistachio and Almond Biscotti http://ohhoneybakes.com/pomegranate-pistachio-and-lemon-biscotti/

The Brick Kitchen – Coconut Raspberry Wagon Wheels http://www.thebrickkitchen.com/2016/12/coconut-raspberry-wagon-wheels/

Alexandra Cooks – Classic Cream Cheese Cutout Cookies http://www.alexandracooks.com/2016/12/11/classic-cream-cheese-cutout-cookies/

Hello My Dumpling – Ginger Viennese Whirl Cookies with Matcha Passion Fruit Filling http://www.hellomydumpling.com/ginger-viennese-whirl-cookies-matcha-passion-fruit-filling

Snixy Kitchen – Peppermint Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies http://www.snixykitchen.com/2016/12/12/peppermint-chocolate-marshmallow-cookies/

Tending the Table – Almond Macaroons with Satsuma Marmalade https://tendingthetable.com/2016/12/12/almond-macaroons-with-satsuma-marmalade/

Milly’s Kitchen – Grapefruit Fennel Shortbread Cookies http://www.millys-kitchen.com/millys-kitchen/2016/12/12/grapefruit-fennel-shortbread-cookies

PDX Food Love – Chocolate Bourbon Swirl Meringues http://pdxfoodlove.com/chocolate-bourbon-swirl-meringues-for-calmandbrightcookienight/

Lasting Ingredient – Lemon Lime Shortbread http://www.lastingredient.com/2016/12/12/lemon-lime-shortbread/

Heart Beet Kitchen Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies http://heartbeetkitchen.com/2016/recipes/type/dessert/chocolate-peppermint-crinkle-cookies/

Carly Diaz Dark Chocolate Pistachio Shortbread Cookie https://www.carlydiaz.com/blog/2016/12/12/dark-chocolate-pistachio-shortbread-cookies

Cloudy Kitchen – Early Grey Shortbread http://www.cloudykitchen.com/blog/2016/12/11/earl-grey-shortbread

Lena’s Kitchen Blog Shortbread Cookies Three Ways http://www.lenaskitchenblog.com/shortbread-cookies-three-ways/

 

 
Print

Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe by The Wood and Spoon Blog by Kate Wood. These are chewy chocolate chip cookies warmly scented with coriander and other spices and candied walnuts. You can substitute pecans or other nuts here. These make terrific holiday or Christmas chocolate chip cookies and can be made ahead and frozen. Save the extra candied walnut pieces for future baked goods. Find the recipe on thewoodandspoon.com. cookies, cookie recipes, walnuts, candied walnuts, cookies with nuts.

5 from 1 reviews

These candied walnut chocolate chip cookies are chewy, buttery, and rich, lightly spiced with crunchy candied nuts and flecked with chopped bits of dark chocolate.

  • Author:
  • Prep Time: 30
  • Cook Time: 30
  • Total Time: 1 hour
  • Yield: 30
  • Category: Cookies

Ingredients

For the candied walnuts

  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/8 teaspoon all-spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

For the cookies

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, chopped into tablespoon sized pieces
  • 1-1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3-1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1-1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 8 ounces bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • Fleur de sel or flaked salt, as desired

Instructions

To prepare the candied walnuts

  1. Combine the butter, vanilla, sugar, and spices in a medium, non-stick over medium heat until the butter has melted. Add the nuts and stir regularly using a rubber spatula until the nuts have toasted and the sugar has begun to melt, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and spread out the nuts to cool on a sheet of parchment paper.

To prepare the cookies

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Melt the butter in a skillet or saucepan over medium heat (I use the same skillet used to prepare the nuts). Once barely melted, remove from heat and pour into a large mixing bowl. Add the sugars to the melted butter and stir until combined. Add the eggs one at a time, stirring each until combined. In a separate, medium sized bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and coriander. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture, stirring until almost combined, and then fold in the chocolate.
  3. If your dough is shiny and still somewhat warm, allow to sit in the fridge for 5-10 minutes to firm up slightly.
  4. Scoop 1-1/2 tablespoons (I use a medium cookie scoop) rounds of dough approximately 2 inches apart onto a prepared cookie sheet. Bake in the preheated oven about 10-12 minutes, or until the tops of the cookies have just barely begun to crack. Allow to cool slightly on a cooling rack prior to enjoying. Cookies will keep in an air tight container up to 3-4 days but are best eaten on day of baking.

Recipe Adapted From: Tara O’Brady

 
Summary
recipe image
Recipe Name
Candied Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies
Author Name
Published On
Preparation Time
Cook Time
Total Time
Average Rating
51star1star1star1star1star Based on 1 Review(s)
11 Comments
  • I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing
    issues with your website. It appears as though some of the written text within your
    posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This could be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Many thanks

    July 13, 2017 at 8:43 PM
  • I’m not a fan of coriander and allspice, can I live it out of the recipe?

    February 5, 2017 at 1:09 PM
  • These sound incredible!

    I’ve also been doing as many fun, Christmassy things Casper as I can and it’s so much fun and sweet!

    December 13, 2016 at 12:22 AM
  • These cookies look delicious .. amazing take on chocolate chip cookies. especially love that there are spices in there. Makes it more cozy on chilly nights 🙂

    December 12, 2016 at 1:55 PM
  • the candied walnuts sound amazing! i love the idea of spiced caramelly bits baked into the cookies.

    December 12, 2016 at 11:42 AM

Post a Comment